Loading Events

Green Days By The River

March 27, 2021 - March 29, 2021

A Caribbean coming-of-age classic in the tradition of Sugar Cane Alley, Mooleedhar’s first feature is adapted from Michael Anthony’s acclaimed 1967 novel. Set in 1952, the story centers on the 15-year-old boy Shellie, whose poor but the close-knit family has recently relocated to a village in Mayaro, Trinidad. With his father seriously ill, Shellie acquires a surrogate father-figure in the wealthy plantation owner Mr Gidharee. He finds himself torn between Gidharee’s seductive half-Indian daughter Rosalie and the more down-to-earth charms of out-of-town girl Joan. But does Shellie really have a choice, or has a trap been laid for him from the very beginning? “Green Days By The River” is a rich sensory experience, featuring a lush sense of place, a superb music-laced soundtrack, and vividly colored, beautifully composed cinematography.

Followed by post-screening Q&A with director Michael Mooleedhar.

Share This Event

  • This event has passed.
Livestream Watch Now

Details

Start:
March 27 @ 8:00 pm AST
End:
March 29 @ 8:00 pm AST
Event Tags:
Website:
View Website →

Director

Michael Mooleedhar